30
Sep
10

Renato D’Agostin : Tokyo Untitled (Photography Series)

Renato’s photographs are deeply rooted in the classic elements that make up his medium. Light and shadow are fused by extreme angles and the compression of space and timelessness. His images are painterly abstracts, sketches of a place that are sometimes unrecognizable, recontexturealized as shape, form and an interaction, a push and pull between negative and positive spaces. [R.S.Gallery]

Renato D’Agostin
Tokyo Untitled No. 38
Silver Gelatin Print
2008

Renato D’Agostin
Tokyo Untitled No. 2
Silver Gelatin Print
2008

Renato D’Agostin
Tokyo Untitled No. 36
Silver Gelatin Print
2008

Renato D’Agostin
Tokyo Untitled No. 16
Silver Gelatin Print
2008

Renato D’Agostin
Tokyo Untitled No. 9
Silver Gelatin Print
2008

Renato D’Agostin
Tokyo Untitled No. 8
Silver Gelatin Print
2008

“In 2007, I turned my attention to Japanese photography, which inspired me to explore what my point of view could be in a city so far from the world that had always surrounded me, but so close to the photographic imagery towards which I was addressing my attention. Longing to break the unconscious, immediate and easy processes of the known and the predictable, I traveled to Tokyo for the first time. I was immediately struck by a sense of disorientation and an inability to quickly locate my own position within the geography of the city.

My lack of precise references to the external world created in me feelings of isolation and detachment from my previously known realities. I was bewitched by the essential and monochromatic geometric forms, so delicate and precise, of the experience of street life, where these forms cause sounds to fall into a deep silence, muffling the interaction between architecture and human figures. I was impelled toward a quest for the unseen, for details and hidden elements. My perception of this outside world lost all sense of time, revealing an essence described by a language of the surreal and the abstract.

I later returned to Tokyo to repeat the experience. Guided by the same quest, but with a greater awareness of the cultural separation, I let isolation become introspection. I sought to recreate this world that belonged to me, as it is reflected by the city’s reality, while appropriating images and moments that delineate the “me” within its boundaries. It’s become my Tokyo. These works represents a visual record of my journey and its invisible elements diluted in visible everyday life.”

[Extract : Renato D’Agostin : Tokyo Untitled]

Tokyo Unlimited : Video

Renato D’Agostin : Website

Renato D’Agostin : Randall Scott Gallery


3 Responses to “Renato D’Agostin : Tokyo Untitled (Photography Series)”


  1. October 2, 2010 at 5:34 am

    elegant, classy, with a superb feeling for details and in rhythm of jazz

  2. March 10, 2012 at 5:45 am

    Great shots, good to see such an artistic street shots plus is made hand print by the traditional way. Great series !!


Leave a comment


Ai : Series : Photography Book

aesthetic investig...
By Azurebumble

email address

Join 507 other subscribers