01
Jul
10

Noriko Ambe : A Piece of Flat Globe

“Through creative action, some form of truth emerges – and it is this truth that I want to pursue” noriko ambe

Installation view of “A Piece of Flat Globe Vol.4-7”, 2008
At Second Nature Exhibition, directed by Tokujin Yoshioka at 21_21 DESIGN SIGHT, Tokyo

noriko ambe : interview extract

Time is essential to my work. Because over time I add more and more paper to a sculpture, the work itself ends up embodying the time taken to create it. The process is as important as the finished product and the simple act of making art every day is important to my practice. Buddhism, although it’s not my intention to show this. I started drawing lines and etching and then eventually, I began stacking paper and working in three-dimensions. Then I began working with Yupo, a synthetic, translucent paper made in Japan. It has an organic quality that makes it feel like skin. In these sculptures, the paper is beautiful, even sublime. Once, when I was in an airplane, I saw a beautiful sea of clouds below me that made me want to melt into the natural world. In the topographies that I cut into paper, human life merges with nature and all boundaries are dissolved. [Article on ‘Art on Paper’ magazine]

Noriko Ambe Works

Artists Statement

Texts


1 Response to “Noriko Ambe : A Piece of Flat Globe”


  1. July 1, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    I don’t know this artist, fantastic works!


Leave a comment


Ai : Series : Photography Book

aesthetic investig...
By Azurebumble

email address

Join 507 other subscribers