04
Apr
12

Cecil Touchon : Photography

::

::
‘East Berlin Storefront’
Cecil Touchon
Photograph
2005
::

::
‘Paris Store Window’
Cecil Touchon
Photograph
2005
::

::
‘Torn Paper, Paris’
Cecil Touchon
Photograph
2005
::

::
‘Worn out Plastic Wind Break’
Cecil Touchon
Photograph
2005
::

::
‘Paris Pavement’
Cecil Touchon
Photograph
2005
::

::
‘Grate in Waxahachie, Texas’
Cecil Touchon
Photograph
2007
::

::
‘Duct Tape Deteriorating in the Sun’
Cecil Touchon
Photograph
2004
::

Why do I make the art I make? What am I doing? What inspires me to do it? I don’t really ask myself those questions on a verbal level. I have been at work for so many years that I have answered these questions to my own satisfaction and I continue to answer them through the work that I produce. The problem is, the answer is completely embedded in the work itself, in the process, in the system, in the results. I had a teacher early on who told me that if a work of art needed to be explained with words then it wasn’t made correctly. A work of art has to stand on its own as the answer to any questions put to it. The answers are embedded in the physical fabric of its construction and if the answers are not found there then the wrong questions are being asked of it. [Extract : Cecil Touchon – Artist Statement]

::

Cecil Touchon : Website

::

2 Responses to “Cecil Touchon : Photography”


  1. 1 yasoypintor
    April 4, 2012 at 8:42 am

    Hello, hiper interesting the many and constant things you share in your blog. Many of the abstract artists you share help me in creating new posts in my blog. I´m going to add a direct link to yours.

    Thanks and regards

    Antonio Basso


Leave a Reply

Ai : Series : Photography Book

aesthetic investig...
By Azurebumble

email address

Join 487 other followers