18
Mar
12

Misha Gordin : ‘The New Crowd’ (Conceptual Photography)

::

::
‘crowd 39′
silver gelatin print
25 x 38 in
1996-98
::

::
‘crowd 42′
silver gelatin print
25 x 38 in
1996-98
::

::
‘crowd 47′
silver gelatin print
25 x 38 in
1996-98
::

::
‘crowd 45′
silver gelatin print
25 x 38 in
1999-00
::

::
‘crowd 46′
silver gelatin print
25 x 38 in
1999-00
::

::
‘crowd 50′
silver gelatin print
25 x 38 in
1999-00
::

All my images are assembled in a traditional darkroom under one enlarger using a masking technique developed and perfected over many years. This technique has its limitations and I address them when working on ideas. Also, before I print the original, I make tests and adjustments for every single negative that’s going to be printed. I then write the tables where I indicate the proper exposures and all the sequences of manipulations for every negative used. Next is the stage of “dry” printing. This part is the most unforgiving. I meticulously project one negative after another, constantly changing precise masks until the last negative is used. This part is all about discipline and has little to do with art

Next comes the time of “judgment” when the first print emerges from the developer. It’s a very exiting moment for me. I look for possible mistakes as the image reveals itself and a great feeling of relief and accomplishment when a print is “flawless”. I always print editions of seven plus three artist proofs. Unfortunately the technique I’m using has no room for mistakes. It requires complete concentration and can be very exhausting physically and mentally. In this respect digital manipulations are easy and forgiving. But my method, as hard as it is, gives me better and immediate quality control. I do print from original negatives after all. Also, I don’t feel at this time the need to change the approach which works. I don’t know for how long I’ll be in good physical shape to be able to continue working this way. But then I’ll always have the alternative of a switch to digital manipulation. [interview : ventilate magazine]

::

Misha Gordin : Website

::

3 Responses to “Misha Gordin : ‘The New Crowd’ (Conceptual Photography)”


  1. March 18, 2012 at 12:21 am

    this post made my day, thanks
    love them, can’t resist :)

  2. March 18, 2012 at 2:57 am

    saw his art years ago but forgot the name of this artist …thanks

  3. March 18, 2012 at 5:04 am

    Amazing. Wonderful use of pattern and image.


Leave a Reply

Ai : Series : Photography Book

aesthetic investig...
By Azurebumble

email address

Join 411 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 411 other followers