06
Feb
12

Grant Mudford : Photography

::

::
‘Houston’
Grant Mudford
Photograph
::

::
‘Los Angeles’
Grant Mudford
Photograph
::

::
‘Los Angeles’
Grant Mudford
Photograph
::

::
‘New York’
Grant Mudford
Photograph
::

::
‘Los Angeles’
Grant Mudford
Photograph
::

::
‘Australia’
Grant Mudford
Photograph
::

” One of the most dynamic parts of the image to me, whether paintings or photographs, is the frame. Photographs, like paintings, have a frame. They have an extremity and they have a boundary. I’ve always been interested in what goes on in those edges. A lot of my photographs, particularly the early black and white photographs, there’s definitely a concern about the frame and what it’s cutting, what it’s suggesting just outside the frame. I’ve often had this massive building, or whatever, filling up most of the frame, and these slits of information, with backgrounds on the sides or the top, so the frame to me, is more than the time and the place.”

“The light is very important to me and very critical. So it often takes me longer than I would like to shoot a building. If it’s an important building and a decent scale it often takes at least two days to do it. The first day you never get it. If you disregard the light you could probably do it all in one day. But you can never be in the right place. There’s often two or three pictures that need to be shot simultaneously. The light is just right and you only have the time to do the one picture. Then the other two you can shoot, but the light is less than optimum. So you make a mental note or a written note about those pictures and you come back the next day. I tend go back to my architectural training. I’m very traditional when I shoot buildings. I love elevational views of the buildings.” – Grant Mudford

::

Grant Mudford : Website

Grant Mudford : Interview

::

1 Response to “Grant Mudford : Photography”



Leave a Reply

Ai : Series : Photography Book

aesthetic investig...
By Azurebumble

email address

Join 420 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 420 other followers