27
Jan
12

Sylvain Lagarde : ‘The dancer upstairs is in my head’ Series

::

“Photography or the art to think from the eye, well opened…”

::

::
Sylvain Lagarde
Photography
40 x 40 cm
2009
::

::
Sylvain Lagarde
Photography
40 x 40 cm
2009
::

::
Sylvain Lagarde
Photography
40 x 40 cm
2009
::

::
Sylvain Lagarde
Photography
40 x 40 cm
2009
::

::
Sylvain Lagarde
Photography
40 x 40 cm
2009
::

::
Sylvain Lagarde
Photography
40 x 40 cm
2009
::

::
Sylvain Lagarde
Photography
40 x 40 cm
2009
::

I have always taken photos : just to keep a scene, a mood in my mind… But it was an art of memory for a young man. My first artistic pleasure was to write. I don’t know precisely when and why, but these two passions were conjugated for me : words can be combined into images, and images can recall some poetic words and thoughts. In fact, photography is a way to kill the time and preserve a vision, an impression, a feeling. When I want to shoot something, to fix an instant in time, it is that something, for me, that makes sense : for my eye (an aesthetic pleasure), for my heart (an emotion), for my head (i think that an image can always be analyzed and interpreted). So, my photographs are a visual kaleidoscope which composes a “point of view” on the world : that is to say a particular look (that does not mean original ; on the contrary, sometimes), an opinion, and a mood at some point.

Black and white photography is for me a monochrome expression which is able to go to the spirit of everything because it eliminates the “superficiality” of colors. It doesn’t mean that color does not have its place. Color imposes another vision. But black and white is the way i use to reach essence, because it’s a “realistic abstraction of the reality”. If my photographic interests are very variable and various, i hope however that a coherence “speaks” : that of a search of the shape, between strict geometry and harmonious lines of the nature, between a world without human trace and the ghostly presence of human beings. I hope also this personal tendency is not only a simple formalism but a way to underline that which gives to an image a soul, even if there’s no human life in the frame. – [Ex : Artist Statement]

::

Sylvain Lagarde : Website

::


0 Responses to “Sylvain Lagarde : ‘The dancer upstairs is in my head’ Series”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Ai : Series : Photography Book

aesthetic investig...
By Azurebumble

email address

Join 415 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers