19
Oct
11

Hyunmee Lee : Paintings

::

Life is about discovering our own identity. – Hyunmee Lee

::

::

::

::

::

::

::

::

::

“My art practice crosses three continents over two decades. The works consider the images and ideas that mark my journey into the spiritual and cultural dimensions of painting as a creative activity. During a period when I have carried adventurous journeys across several different social and geographic divides, I began to search deeper for an understanding of who I am, and where I am. My paintings started to explore the idea of self as the most fundamental element of human nature; I tried to seek my identity as I examined human nature.

In the 80s by moving outside my Korean heritage, I became more aware of the traditions of thought that formed the basis of my life and work. I reflected on Taoism, Buddhism and Confucianism: these are the principles of natural energy in my painting. In Taoism, the main concept is being in the middle, not being judgmental, and bringing forth spontaneously. It reflects my art process of meditation as an “abstract gaze”, which is a certain way of looking and thinking that prioritizes states of formlessness and energy (ch’i). For me, ch’i is the life force that animates and connects things. The resulting energy, or ch’I, helped to explore the idea of self.

The repetition of seeking a harmony between the conscious and unconscious mind is how I destruct the existing order to make formless space, I try to keep the rhythm continuous. This is where I find my creative mind; “In the immediacy of gesture,” especially the “moment when the gesture finds its own power.” As I have always been more interested in the substance of the brush stroke than its symbolism; I am concentrating on spontaneous gestures. At this time in my life, while I am not connected to the outside world, I have chosen to create a world of my own, where I can find the inspiration I am looking for. I find these moments of ‘making-earth’ at the time when the gesture finds its own power…” Hyunmee Lee

::

Hyunmee Lee : Website

Hyunmee Lee : Cheryl Hazan Gallery

::

1 Response to “Hyunmee Lee : Paintings”


  1. 1 Lucie Bourassa
    October 19, 2011 at 3:05 am

    Just superb… thanks for making me discovering this, Alan…


Leave a Reply

Ai : Series : Photography Book

aesthetic investig...
By Azurebumble

email address

Join 412 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 412 other followers