01
Oct
10

Michelle Kloehn : Unseen (Tintype Series)

Untitled
Tintype
20″ x 16″
2009

Untitled
Tintype
20″ x 16″
2009

Untitled
Tintype
20″ x 16″
2009

Untitled
Tintype
20″ x 16″
2009

Untitled
Tintype
16″ x 20″
2009

Untitled
Tintype
16″ x 20″
2009

“I started using the wet plate technique eight years ago, when I went off to a residency and holed myself up in the darkroom until I figured out how the process worked. From there I have created several bodies of work- each one generating more questions for myself. Lately I have been thinking about light and shadow, about abstraction and representation, about the difference between what we think we see and what we want to see.

This series “ Unseen” was made using a very primitive 16 x 20 inch camera that a friend of mine and I put together. The images are all made in my studio where I alternate between making small sculptures and working with light itself. As this work builds and has been getting more and more abstract, and I find myself trying to find a place where the wet plate process adds to and informs the work… a place where chance and intent meet.” Michelle Kloehn [Extract : A Conversation with Michelle Kloehn]

Michelle Kloehn : Website

2 Responses to “Michelle Kloehn : Unseen (Tintype Series)”


  1. 2 Lucie Bourassa
    October 6, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    Magnifique!


Leave a Reply

Ai : Series : Photography Book

aesthetic investig...
By Azurebumble

email address

Join 421 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers